Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Raspberry Sherbet July 18, 2008

Filed under: dessert,fruit,ice cream — pharmfresh @ 2:43 pm
Tags: , ,

Good news, people!  I got a job!  Well, kind of.  See, I decided when I graduated in April that I was going to take a break this summer and not work…I figured it would be nice to be able to just kind of hang out before I start pharmacy school.  Except now it’s mid-July, I’m bored out of my mind, and I could use the extra money.  My mom happened to see an advertisement that said a couple was looking for a young person to look after their elderly mom a few mornings a week.  So, I called, and they called me back this morning (at 8 am, of course).  It looks like I’ll be doing it just Sunday and Monday mornings, which is fine with me.  It should be interesting, at the very least.

So, in celebration, I decided that it was time to make another selection from David Lebovitz’s book, The Perfect Scoop. After about 10 minutes trying to decide, I chose two: raspberry sherbet and lime sorbet.  The lime sorbet, however, is waiting for the core of my ice cream maker to re-freeze, but I’ll post pictures and the recipe for that one once it’s done.

I’ve always been really weird about raspberries.  I like raspberry flavored things, but not really the fruit itself.  I think it has to do with the seeds.  I’m very opposed to raspberry seeds.  They’re crunchy and gross and get stuck in my teeth.  The end.  Luckily, this recipe calls for you to strain out all the seeds, so what is left is a smooth, creamy, and extremely delicious sherbet.  Seriously, I don’t think Dave will ever steer me wrong.  He is my ice cream hero.

I used frozen raspberries, since fresh are ridiculously expensive right now, even though they’re in season.  I don’t think that using frozen berries detracted from the taste or color of the sherbet though — it’s still vivid pinkish red, and the flavor is amazing!  The recipe here calls for whole milk, but I used 2%, because that’s what I had on hand.

Raspberry Sherbet

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

Makes: 1 quart

4 c. (450 g) raspberries, fresh or frozen

2 c. whole milk

1 c. granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice

1) Put the raspberries in a blender or food processor, along with the milk and sugar.  Puree until smooth.

2) Strain the mixture through a fine sieve to remove the seeds.

3) Stir in the lemon juice.

4) Freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.