Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Banana Cream Pie Parfaits June 14, 2008

Filed under: dessert,fruit — pharmfresh @ 4:47 am
Tags: , , ,

Hello, world! Welcome to my blog!

My name is Katie, and I’m a 22 year old soon-to-be pharmacy student in Michigan. I’m quite enthusiastic about cooking, and thought that a food blog would be a fun thing to start and work on over the summer, and hopefully carry on while I’m in pharmacy school, which starts this fall. This first entry is probably the least complicated thing I’ve ever made, food wise, but I thought the pictures turned out really pretty, and figured that it would be a good place to start.

At the moment, I’m living at home with my parents for the summer. I’ve never been one who was all about growing up and getting away from their parents as soon as possible. Don’t get me wrong — I love living on my own during the school year, but I have no problem coming back to mommy and daddy for the summer. I love my parents to death, and they’re very easy to live with. And, best of all, they let me cook for them…and they pay for all the ingredients!

I made dinner for them last night, which, of course, got eaten before I could get any pictures. To be honest though, it tasted great, but the meal wasn’t very photogenic.

Dessert, however, was a different story. My dad is diabetic, and both he and my mom are trying to watch their weight. This dessert turned out to be satisfactory in both categories — I used sugar-free, fat-free pudding mix, skim milk, and light Cool-Whip, but feel free to use the full-fat and full-sugar versions. It tasted fantastic though…just like a real banana cream pie, without the sogginess a larger pie gets after sitting for a day or two, waiting to get eaten.

Banana Cream Pie Parfaits

Banana Cream Pie Parfaits

Makes 4 parfaits in medium-sized drinking glasses

1 large package (5.9 oz) instant fat-free, sugar-free vanilla pudding

3 c. skim milk

3-4 ripe bananas, sliced

1 c. Cool-Whip Light

8 graham crackers

1) Prepare the pudding with the milk as directed on the package.

2) Pour 1/8 of the pudding mixture into each of four medium sized clear drinking glasses.

3) Place banana slices in one layer on top of pudding.

4) Spread 1/4 c. of Cool Whip on top of banana slices in each cup.

5) Crumble 1 graham cracker in each glass on top of the Cool Whip.

6) Repeat with remaining pudding, bananas, and graham crackers. Top with more Cool Whip if you want (I would have, but I ran out)

 

One Response to “Banana Cream Pie Parfaits”

  1. Joanie Says:

    Katie – It’s my father-in-laws birthday in two weeks and he loves Banana Cream Pie – this will certainly be easier than making the pie (although I love to bake as you know). However, my crystal glasses from Romania will make a beautiful decoration with the layers. As always thanks! I’ll email you the Strawberry cake recipe early next week! We miss you at GVSU!


Leave a Reply

