Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Coconut Bread August 25, 2008

Filed under: bread,dessert — pharmfresh @ 11:10 pm
Tags: ,

Well, it’s official!  I am officially a resident of Big Rapids, Michigan.  I just moved into my house on Saturday.  Which, by the way, is the reason behind the recent lack in posting.  I’ve been too busy with packing and shopping to do any real cooking.  But now I have my very own kitchen all to myself, which should lead to some fantastic creations!  Moving in wasn’t as bad and complicated as I thought it would be — my dad and I had to come up a day early to let the cable guy in (they, of course, couldn’t come on the day we were planning on being there to move in), and then my mom and boyfriend came the next day with the moving van and a car full of the rest of my stuff.  My parents are so awesome though; they stayed until after midnight to help me get all of my stuff unpacked and settled.  And my dad took me shopping and bought me a TON of groceries.  My kitchen is completely stocked.  It’s so great.

You’ll also probably notice that the pictures from now on are going to be of a slightly lower quality.  Now that I’m not living at home anymore, I don’t have access to my mom’s super fancy expensive camera, and instead have to use my not-so-fancy generic digital camera.  Hopefully this will be rectified by Christmas though, seeing as a fancier camera is on the top of my wishlist.

So to christen my kitchen, I decided to make a recipe that I’ve had bookmarked for quite a while.  I found it on another food blog, and it looked pretty fantastic.  Apparently it’s a recipe from a restaurant in Sydney, Australia called Bills.  The bread doesn’t taste the way I expected it to, but it’s still pretty delicious, and came out perfectly moist with a nice crisp crust on the outside.  It’s doesn’t have a really strong coconut flavor, which is really the only problem I have with it.  I think next time I make it, I will toast the coconut beforehand to try to bring in a little more coconut flavor.  I might also add in some chocolate chips next time, because really, what goes better with coconut than chocolate?  It would be like a Mounds bar in bread form.  Mmmmm, delicious.

Coconut Bread

Source: Baking Bites

Makes 1 loaf

2 eggs

1 1/4 c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 1/2 c. flour

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 c. sugar

2 c. shredded sweetened coconut

1/3 c. butter, melted

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan.

2) In a small bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and vanilla.  Set aside.

3) Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Stir in coconut and sugar.

4) Add egg mixture and butter to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Pour into prepared loaf pan.

5) Bake for 1 hour, then cool completely before cutting.

 

Leave a Reply

