Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Creamy Garlic Vinaigrette November 7, 2008

Filed under: sauces etc. — pharmfresh @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

For some reason, making my own salad dressing has always seemed like something way out of my league.  I’m not really sure why, though.  But as soon as I saw Alton Brown making his own vinaigrette on the Food Network, I said to myself “huh, that’s it?  I can do that!”  And so I did!  I haven’t made made too many vinaigrettes since then, as I am very much a ranch dressing girl, but every once in a while one stands out that I just have to try.

I found this recipe online not too long ago, and it looked so delicious that I just had to try it.  I love garlic, and just about anything with garlic in it.  I will give a word of warning — the recipe calls for 1-2 cloves of garlic, and using two will make it VERY strong.  As in, you will be breathing garlicky fire for the rest of the day after you eat it, guaranteed.  Of course, I only know that from experience.  When I was making the dressing, I thought to myself “well, I like garlic, I think two cloves will be delicious!”  It ended up tasting very good, but I could have done with a little less garlic flavor.  It actually burned my sinuses.  And my dog wouldn’t even come within three feet of me until I brushed my teeth!

I liked that this vinaigrette incorporated sour cream — it made the dressing nice and creamy without too many added calories, and it also added a nice tang that goes really well with the rest of the ingredients.  I ended up adding quite a bit of pepper (about 3/4 tsp.) before it tasted right to me, but add salt and pepper to your tastes.

s5002672

Creamy Garlic Vinaigrette

Source: Cooking for Seven

Makes: About 1/2 cup

1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil

3 tbsp. sour cream

1 tbsp. white or red wine vinegar

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

sea salt and ground pepper, to taste

1) Combine all ingredients in a small container with a lid.  Shake well until everything is combined.

2) Allow to sit at least one hour or overnight for best flavor.  Enjoy!

*Cautinary note:  there have been a few studies/articles that warn against storing garlic infused oils for long periods of time without sufficient refrigeration and/or preservatives, because of the risk of botulism poisoning.  As this isn’t straight garlic infused oil, there isn’t much, if any, risk for growing botulism, plus the acidity of the lemon juice and vinegar added to the dressing will also help to ward off any microbial growth.  Still, just to be safe, I would recommed making this dressing the day before you plan on eating it, or right before eating, (making it a day before eating will let the flavors have time to meld, and result in a better tasting dressing) and keeping it refrigerated in the meantime.  I made mine the day before and stored it in the refrigerator and I’m still alive to write this post, so I fared just fine.   Don’t let this deter you from making this dressing though, it’s really very good!

 

Leave a Reply

