Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Parmesan Crusted Potatoes December 21, 2008

Filed under: side dish,vegetable — pharmfresh @ 6:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well everyone, it’s official!  I’ve finished my first semester of pharmacy school.  And passed with As and Bs, too!  I’m pretty excited about it.   I also finally got around to getting all of the pictures of food off of my mom’s camera and onto my computer, so I can start posting them!  So, be ready for quite a few posts in these next few days.

I made these potatoes when I was home last.  I randomly found them on TasteSpotting, which is a fantastic website where bloggers from all over the world can showcase the food they’ve made.  If you haven’t yet, I would definitely recommend checking them out!

These are definitely one of my new favorite ways to make potatoes.  Parmesan is one of my favorite cheeses, and it makes a delicious, salty crust on the potatoes that’s to die for.  My dad and I fought over who would get to eat the leftover crispy pieces of cheese from the bottom of the pan.  Extra virgin olive oil does impart a very noticable taste to the dish, so if you’re like me and don’t really care for the taste of EVOO, you can use light olive oil (which is just as good for you in the way of unsaturated fats, but with less of a strong flavor), or if you’re not so much worried about your fat intake, use melted butter! I also think that the addition of some herbs – maybe some crushed dried rosemary -would be a really nice addition to this dish.

img_2427

Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Source:  For the Love of Cooking

4-5 small Idaho potatoes

1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1-2 tbsp. olive oil

garlic powder, to taste

1) Wash potatoes, and chop into bite-sized pieces.  Boil potatoes until fork tender, but not falling apart.  Drain and set aside.

2) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

3) Grease a small casserole dish.  In the dish, mix together the olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic salt.  Add potatoes to the dish, and mix until coated with olive oil mixture.

4) Sprinkle parmesan cheese over the top of the potatoes, and mix until combined.

5)  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the cheese has melted and browned.

 

One Response to “Parmesan Crusted Potatoes”

  1. finger me Says:

    I truly love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my very own website and want to know where you got this from or what the theme is called. Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

