Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Red Velvet Truffles December 22, 2008

Filed under: candy,chocolate — pharmfresh @ 10:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

I honestly can’t believe that there are only three days left until Christmas.

This time last week, I was stressing out over finals, learning by heart how the body metabolizes cholesterol and fatty acids.  But, I’m happy to say that I will never have to take biochemistry again.  It was interesting and all, but definitley the most work I’ve ever put in to any single class.  Now only seven semesters left until I’m a pharmacist!  Ugh, when I put it like that, it seems like a really long time!

Anyways, I made these truffles for Thanksgiving.  I wasn’t quite sure how they were going to work out —  I was a little skeptical when I saw that the filling was just mashed up cake and pre-made frosting, but they were actually really good!  They definitely have all the taste of a red velvet cake, just in a small, ball-shaped package!  The only thing I noticed was that the consistency of the filling is quite different than that of a chocolate truffle.  Chocolate truffles are smooth and thick, whereas the inside of these truffles is more like a very, very moist cake.  It’s not a bad thing really, just different.   This is super easy to make, as it uses a cake mix and pre-made frosting.  You can definitely make both from scratch if you’re feeling especially ambitious – I would imagine that they’d taste even better that way!  I would recommend using chocolate bark coating for covering the truffles.  It melts a lot easier than chocolate chips and is more resistant to burning, and it also hardens a lot quicker.  You can find both white and milk chocolate bark in the baking aisle of your supermarket, usually near the chocolate chips.

And to celebrate the end of my biochemistry days, here is another fun fact brought to you by that class:

Fun Fact #2

Love the germ-free feeling you get after washing your hands with antibacterial soap?  It may not be as germ free as you think!  For any anti-bacterial soap using Triclosan (check the back of the bottle, it will list the active ingredient), the soap needs to be in contact with your hands for a substantial amount of time before it is effective in killing bacteria.  How long?  About as long as the ABC song (or Twinkle,  Twinkle Little Star…take your pick!).  So next time you wash your hands, sing the ABC song while you’re washing and rinse at the end – then you really will be (almost) germ free!

img_2440

Red Velvet Truffles

Source: Nosh With Me

1 red velvet cake mix

water, oil and eggs as called for on the cake mix

1 (16 oz.) can cream cheese frosting

1 package chocolate bark coating

1) Prepare the cake mix as directed on the box, and bake as directed for a 9×13 inch pan.  Cool cake completely.

2) Once cake has cooled, crumble into small crumbs in a large bowl.  (I found it easiest to do this and the next step by hand, but be careful!  Your hands will turn very red from the cake!)

3) Add the can of frosting and mix until thoroughly combined.

4) Roll into bite-sized balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with waxed or parchment paper.  Freeze 1 hour, or until firm.

5) Break the chocolate bark into pieces and place in a large, microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave for two minutes or until melted.

6) Dip the frozen red velvet balls in the chocolate.  Refrigerate until ready to eat.

 

3 Responses to “Red Velvet Truffles”

  1. Steven Says:

    Wow that’s a cool idea for truffles. The color is intense. Nice work

  2. pharmfresh Says:

    Thank you! I definitely can’t take the credit for the idea, but they were pretty awesome!

  3. I have so many red velvet anecdotes and I know we just met, but I feel so close to you knowing you combined this heavenly cake with chocolate and made it into a candy!! My bday is in 2 days and every year I get a red velvet cake. This year however, our supermarket has a limited edition Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream so I had to splurge for that instead. Bravo Pharmfresh, bravo!


Leave a Reply

