Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Cinnamon Roasted Almonds January 7, 2009

Filed under: snacks — pharmfresh @ 6:35 pm
Tags: , , , ,

img_2934

I’ve had an incredibly lazy week so far.  Mostly I’ve laid around the house, watching reruns of NCIS and Unsolved Mysteries and hung out with my parents.  I think it’s a good way to get a final little bit of rest in before next week, when I plunge headfirst into a whole new semester of pharmacy school.  I’m going back to Big Rapids on Friday, so I’m trying to soak up as much family and boyfriend time as possible.

To break up my incredibly busy schedule for the day (ha!), I decided to try my hand at cinnamon roasted almonds.  My dad loves the kind you can buy at the mall during the holidays, and I’ve always wanted to try to replicate them.  This is the first of two recipes that I found for these.  This one is egg white based, and you bake the entire combination, while with the other you make a cinnamon flavored syrup on the stovetop, and simply coat the almonds and let it harden.

The verdict?  These taste almost exactly like the nuts from the mall, but the nuts themselves are softer.  The coating has more of a grainy texture, and the mall nuts had more of a hard candy-esque coating.  It’s definitely not bad, though.  I quite like them.  Definitely a passable first attempt, and seeing as I’m eating some right now, I’m pretty happy with it!

Cinnamon Roasted Almonds

Adapted from various recipes on allrecipes.com

img_2912

1 egg white

2 c. whole almonds

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cinnamon

img_2915

Separate the egg white into a medium bowl.

img_2916

Whip egg whites to stiff peaks.  See how the peak on the edge of the beater stands straight up?  That’s what you want.

img_2918 img_2921 img_2923

Add in the sugar, cinnamon and vanilla.  Mix gently, until everything is incorporated.

img_2927

Mix in almonds until completely coated.

img_2929

Spread almonds onto a greased cookie sheet (I use foil for easy cleanup).  Make sure the almonds are in a single layer.

Bake at 300 degrees for 10 minutes.

img_2931

Remove from oven and stir the almonds, breaking up the larger clusters as you go.  Put back into the oven and bake for 10 more minutes.  Once cooled, break the almonds up into single pieces and store in an airtight container.

img_2936

The leftover crispy bits make great dog treats!  (By the way, meet my adorable chihuahua, Ella)

 

One Response to “Cinnamon Roasted Almonds”

  1. Maggie Says:

    These are my favorite fair food, yours look great! And Ella is adorable!!


Leave a Reply

