Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Avocado Vinaigrette January 13, 2009

Filed under: sauces etc. — pharmfresh @ 11:55 pm
Tags: , ,

img_2985

Well, the new semester has officially started.  This time I have all morning classes, so I’m finished by noon almost every day.  This is super news, because it gives me so much more time to cook!  Last semester I had class every day until 4 or 5, which really limited my kitchen creativity time.  I have so many things that I can’t wait to try!  As for classes, they’re just about what I expected.  Nothing is too crazy yet, but I’m sure that’ll change pretty quickly!

I’m working on making this post more learner-friendly by adding step-by-step pictures.  And of course, if you guys ever have any questions about the recipes I post, feel free to leave a comment or email me!  It’s a rare time when I’m not near my computer or my cell phone (which also has email capabilities).  There are some recipes I have stored to post that aren’t step-by-step, but most of them from now on will be!

I found this recipe in a Rachel Ray cookbook that I found while I was home over Christmas break.  I really like trying out different salad dressings, and I also really like avocados, so it was perfect!  It was really easy to make, but you will need a blender.

The verdict?  This dressing has the potential to be good.  It’s tangy and smooth, with a slight garlic aftertaste.  The only problem I had with it was that there was WAY too much lime in it, which was totally my fault.  The original recipe called for lemon zest and juice, but I realized while I was in the process of making it that I only had limes.  Honestly though, I think the equivalent amount of lemon would be just as overpowering.  I recommend leaving out the zest all together, but definitely keep the juice.  I also ended up adding 1/2 cup of olive oil instead of 1/3 cup, in order to thin out the dressing a little.  I think with those changes, it would be a much better dressing.  I think it would go especially well with taco salad, which is definitely what I’m going to try next time I make it.

Avocado Vinaigrette

Source: Rachel Ray

Makes: about 1 c. dressing

img_2968

2 ripe Haas avocados

1 garlic clove

2 tbsp. red wine vinegar

1 tsp. lemon zest

2 tsp. lemon juice

1/3 c. extra virgin olive oil (I used 1/2 c.)

salt and pepper, to taste

img_2970

Slice all around the avocado, all the way through to the pit.  Separate the two halves and remove the pit with a spoon.  Repeat with the other avocado.

img_2971

Slide a spoon into the very inside of each avocado half, and scoop out the middle portion.

img_2973

Place all four halves into the blender.

img_2974

To peel the garlic, place it on the cutting board and then place the flat side of your knife over it.  Use the heel of your hand (like I’m doing in the picture) and give it a good whack.  It’ll crush the garlic and make it super easy to peel.  Then add the crushed garlic clove to the blender.

img_2976 img_2977 img_2979

Add the lemon zest, lemon juice (lime, in my case!) and red wine vinegar to the blender.  Blend to combine.

img_2981

While the blender is running, pour the olive oil in a slow stream.  Blend until everything is smooth.  Taste, and add salt and pepper to your liking.

 

4 Responses to “Avocado Vinaigrette”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Looks like an interesting recipe and bravo on the step by step photos. It’s such a challenge to stop things and grab the camera.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    This is good. Next time try adding a littlie dijon mustard and cilantro to your recipe.

  3. Jimmy Leno Says:

    Why is the recipe calling for Lemon zest/juice….And I see in the photos a Lime???? But it is a great starting point for me to refer to….

  4. finger me Says:

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your
    views are pleasant in favor of new users.


Leave a Reply

