Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Mom’s Cheese Ball February 18, 2009

Filed under: appetizer,snacks — pharmfresh @ 8:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

There are very few things that I will eat with reckless abandon.  This is one of them.  I think I could eat this for days on end, and never get tired of it.  It doesn’t matter if I’ve just eaten a full Thanksgiving dinner, I can still find room for this stuff.  I swear, it’s like crack.  Cheesy, garlicky crack.  And better yet, crack that’s not likely to kill you.

I have no idea where this recipe originated, but my mom has been making it for as long as I can remember.  Every holiday and family gathering just isn’t the same without mom’s cheese ball.  I think she started out actually shaping this into a ball, but lately we’ve found that it’s much easier (and just as delicious!) to just spoon it all into a big bowl.  I’ve made this for quite a few friends and parties through the years, and I’ve never found even one person who didn’t like it.  In fact, it usually goes over extremely well, which is both good and bad.  Good because, well, who doesn’t like it when their food is a hit?  And bad because I never have any leftovers for the next day!

This is a really forgiving recipe, and can be altered to suit your personal taste quite easily.  The original recipe calls for Kraft Roka Blue and Old English cheese spreads, but I usually have a hard time finding Roka Blue.  I usually substitute in Pimiento, which I actually like more than Roka Blue anyways, because it gives the dip a little bit of extra spice. I also like my cheese ball heavy on the garlic.  I used about 2 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder in this, which was pretty intense, even for my taste.  I would start with 1/2 tsp. and taste it.  If it doesn’t taste garlicky enough, keep adding more in increments of 1/2 tsp., tasting every time, until it tastes right.

You can find these small jars of Kraft cheeses in most supermarkets in the refrigerated cheese section, usually near the cream cheese.  I’ve also found them in the non-refrigerated section next to the Velveeta.

img_3205

Mom’s Cheese Ball

2 blocks (8 oz. each) cream cheese

1 jar (5 oz.) Kraft Old English cheese spread

1 jar (5 oz.) Kraft Pimiento cheese spread

1 jar (5 oz.) Kraft Roka Blue cheese spread (optional)

1/2 – 2 tsp. garlic powder (see note above)

assorted crackers (Triscuits, Wheat Thins, Ritz, etc.)

1) In a medium bowl, combine all cheeses.  Beat with an electric mixer until smooth.

2) Add garlic powder in increments of 1/2 tsp. tasting after each addition until the desired taste is attained.

3) Serve with assorted crackers (Triscuits are my favorite to have with this!)





 

4 Responses to “Mom’s Cheese Ball”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I have not been able to find Roka Blue anywhere. I think it’s discontinued. I have a cheese ball recipe similar to yours and LOVE it! I could eat it all the time as well. Good to know Kraft’s pimento spread is a good substitute. I made a little blue cheese paste and put it in instead of the Roka Blue. Turned out pretty good.

  2. Wayne Says:

    Yep. Discontinued. There are many that are pretty upset by this. Head over to the Kraft Food website & add yourself to the growing list of disgruntled cheese ball lovers & make yourself heard!!!

    http://recipe-board.kraftfoods.com/topic/Celebrations-Entertaining-General/Roka-Blue-Cheese/1700001501

  3. Donna W Says:

    I read on the Internet that Kraft is making Roka Bleu again this year (2010), but I didn’t find it. I’ve been looking all over for this recipe, which my mother-in-law used to make. Only she actually put grated onion in hers. Maybe I’ll try it with garlic powder this year.

  4. Alannah Says:

    We are going to pharm fresh.


Leave a Reply

