Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Creamy Jell-O March 18, 2009

Filed under: dessert — pharmfresh @ 10:27 pm

Today has been a good day.  Not only did I clean my entire house, exercise, and make a delicious dinner, but I also got asked to make a WEDDING CAKE.  My cousin Matt is getting married next month, so my aunt called to see if I would be interested in making the cake.  This is his second marriage and they want the reception to be very laid back, so I’m not too worried about it.  I probably would have said no if they were looking for a flawless, professional-looking cake.  I’m pretty decent at cake decorating, but I’m definitely not up to par with the professionals!  They haven’t decided yet if they want an actual tiered cake, or a bunch of cupcakes.  Either way, I’m super excited!  I’ve been hoping for another opportunity to decorate a cake for a while now.  I will most definitely be sharing the process and the finished product on here as soon as I get more details!

I’ve been trying to try out some healthier desserts lately.  I have a huge sweet tooth, and I’m always trying to find things that are healthier, but still taste great.  This definitely scores in both categories.  And as a plus, it’s very diabetes friendly so I can feed it to my dad the next time I’m home!  He, like me, also has a huge sweet tooth, which is no fun when you watch how much sugar you eat.  This is super easy and quick to make, so it’s perfect if you’re looking for an easy weekday dessert.

I made this with cherry Jell-O because it’s my all-time favorite, but you can use any flavor you want.  The non-fat plain yogurt adds a healthy punch of protein and a creaminess and really nice tang that makes it so much better than regular Jell-O.  I recommend using the thick Greek kind of plain yogurt, if you can find it.  I was so excited to find that my grocery store started carrying the Fage brand, which is absolutely fantastic.

img_3612

Creamy Jell-O

Makes: about 4 half-cup servings

1 box sugar-free Jell-O (the small, four serving box)

1 c. boiling water

1/2 c. cold water

1 c. plain, non-fat yogurt (the thick Greek kind, if you can find it)

Cool-Whip or whipped cream, for serving

1) Empty the package of Jell-O powder into a large bowl.  Add the boiling water and stir until dissolved.

2) Whisk in the cold water, then the yogurt until smooth.

3) Pour into four ramekins or cups.  Cover and chill until firm, 1-2 hours.

4) Serve with Cool-Whip or whipped cream, if desired.





 

One Response to “Creamy Jell-O”

  1. Kristina Says:

    Hi there!

    I see that you’re a fan of Greek yogurt and I’d love to send you some free coupons to give Stonyfield Oikos Organic a try! Oikos is the only ORGANIC Greek yogurt on the market today and we think it’s better for you and the planet too :)

    Just shoot me an email at Kdrociak@stonyfield.com if you’re interested and let me know where to send them.

    Take care!
    Kristina


Leave a Reply

