Pharm Fresh

The foodie alter-ego of a pharmacy student

Roasted Tomato Salsa August 27, 2009

Filed under: appetizer,snacks,vegetable — pharmfresh @ 7:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m back!  Did you miss me?

I can’t believe the summer is already almost over – it flew by so quickly!  As I’m sure you’ve noticed by the lack of posts these past few months, I took a little summer hiatus from blogging, and cooking in general.  I moved in with my little sister for the summer and didn’t want to lug my tons of cooking equipment with me for just a three month stay and little sister doesn’t do much cooking at all aside from making a bowl of cereal every now and again.  To be honest though, other than the bowl of spaghetti every now and then, I think I only actually cooked twice this summer.  Twice! I know, I can’t believe it either.

The good news is that I’m back and all moved into my house in Big Rapids and school starts on Monday, so I’ll be doing much more cooking (and blog updating!) now.  This weekend my group of pharmacy school friends are going on a little getaway to celebrate the last weekend before classes start.  My friend Jen (who made an appearance in the last blog post) has a gorgeous house right on a lake in Kalamazoo, so we’re all traveling down there and staying for the weekend.  It’s going to be so much fun – I can’t wait!

Jen asked everyone to either donate money so she could go grocery shopping, or bring some food to share, so I naturally volunteered to bring some food.  It felt so good to get back to cooking again!

This is one of the snacks I volunteered to bring.  I saw this recipe ages ago on 101Cookbooks and I’m so glad I finally got around to making it!  I’ve never made a salsa that involved cooking the ingredients, but it turned out really well.  Roasting the tomatoes brings out their natural sweetness and gives them a little hint of smokiness that goes really well with the chipotle chiles.  The flavor is definitely different than that of a fresh salsa, but I think this makes for a nice change every once in a while.

Chipotle chiles (which are smoked jalapenos) can be found in most major supermarkets, usually in the ethnic foods aisle.  They come in a small can, usually labeled “chipotle chiles in adobo sauce.”  The original recipe calls for a dried guajillo pepper as well, but I couldn’t find any at my grocery store, so I just left it out.

IMG_3880

Roasted Tomato Salsa

Adapted from: 101 Cookbooks

2 lbs. roma tomatoes

1 large onion

3 cloves garlic

2 tsp. kosher or sea salt

3-4 tbsp. olive oil

1-2 chipotle chiles (canned, in adobo sauce)

1/2 c. cilantro, roughly chopped

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2)  Cut the tomatoes in half lengthwise and place, cut side down in a single layer, on a large cookie sheet.  (I like to lightly cover my cookie sheet in cooking spray, just in a case.)  Cut the onion into large wedges and place on the cookie sheet with the tomatoes.  Place the garlic cloves on the cookie sheet, too.

3) Drizzle olive oil over tomatoes, onions and garlic and sprinkle with salt.

4) Roast in the oven for 35-40 minutes, until the tomatoes have started to sink in the middle and the onions are lightly browned on the edges.  Set aside and let cool.

5) Once everything has cooled a bit, puree 3 tomato halves, the garlic cloves and chipotles in a food processor until smooth.  Roughly chop the rest of the tomatoes and onion and stir into the pureed mixture.  Stir in the cilantro and season with salt and pepper to taste.

 

One Response to “Roasted Tomato Salsa”

  1. Hillary Says:

    Wow, I can’t imagine not cooking all summer long! I never know what people eat when they do that. I’m glad you’re back from the summer. The salsa sounds yummy.


Leave a Reply

